The Spare Beauty of Sand, Sea, and Sky

Spare (adjective) – elegantly simple

There is nothing elaborate about the beach, but it draws people to it. The natural spare beauty of sand, sea, and sky appeals to all of our senses. Their simplicity combined makes the beach’s appeal powerful.

The beach at Race Point Lighthouse, Provincetown MA


On a family trip to Cape Cod, Massachusetts last week, my family and I were happy to find out that Race Point Lighthouse was conducting an open house on the day of our visit to Provincetown. A free tour with refreshments was on offer as well as transportation to the lighthouse from the Visitor Center. We grabbed the opportunity and we were amazed by the spare beauty of the dunes, sea, and sky where the lighthouse stands. 

Race Point Lighthouse


Now that I’m back home, I wish I was back there, gazing at the sand, sea, and sky.

The spare beauty of sand, sea, and sky at the beach of Race Point Lighthouse

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
This entry was posted in Photo Challenge, Travel, United States and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Spare Beauty of Sand, Sea, and Sky

  1. Pingback: Spare (Tree) | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

