Destination: Italy ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น

I am so ready to be charmed by Italy. It is #3 on the list of places I long to see. Hubby and I are headed there next year! The anticipation is killing me!!

National Monument of Italy, photo by Paolo Costa Baldi CC BY-SA 3.0

One thing that I am happy about is that I was able to book the exact itinerary that I had been following at a travel agency site, and the same itinerary I talked about on a post in my previous blog, Afflicted by Fernweh: The Places I Long to See.

Map grabbed from gate1travel.com

My wallet is happy about this, too! I regularly check this trip at Gate 1 Travel. I know the regular package rate and the early booking rate. When I received the email for the travel agency’s Memorial Day Sale, I knew it was time to book the trip. More discount! Plus, I didn’t want to take the risk of not getting seats on the dates I wanted if I waited too long. At booking, I found out there were 14 seats left. I sighed with relief we got seats at a good deal!

I love that the itinerary on this trip stops at Assisi. Ever since I saw Brother Sun, Sister Moon, St. Francis of Assisi became my favorite Saint, and since then I hoped to visit the Basilica of St. Francis in Assisi. 

Basilica of St. Francis, photo by Berthold Werner


The other reason why I chose this itinerary is Pompeii. In Turkey, the ruins of Ephesus amazed me. I was told that Pompeii is even more amazing. The itinerary also allows for leisure time on our own which I like. Hubby and I will be able to do some independent exploring!

Entrance to the Catacombs of Saint Calixtus, photo by Dnalor 01 CC BY-SA 3.0


I’m crossing my fingers for a very enjoyable trip to Italy. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Have you ever been? Tips are very welcome. Do share. 
 

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
This entry was posted in Europe, Photo Challenge, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Destination: Italy ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น

  1. Pingback: Destination: Italy ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น | Dee Travels – Here, There, Everywhere

  2. Pingback: Anticipando Repubblica Italiana! ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ช | deetravelssite.wordpress.com

  3. Penne Cole says:

    What a great itinerary! You’re going to have such fun. One thing I regretted not doing is stopping by Naples on my way to Pompeii – they’re supposed to have the best pizza in Italy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Anticipation | Penne 4 Your Thoughts

Leave a Reply

