Rainbow Bridge National Monument, San Juan County UT

I have blogged about Rainbow Bridge National Monument in my other blog and here as an entry to a photo challenge; but I will talk about it again as my and hubby’s visit to Rainbow Bridge changed the way we plan our trips. Before we visited Rainbow Bridge, our trips focused on city attractions and State Capitols. After Rainbow Bridge, our travel goal changed to visiting as many National Parks as we could.

Utah

Inside Utah’s State Capitol

Rainbow Bridge National Monument is located in Utah’s San Juan County. The nearest city to the monument is Page, Arizona (the reason why I identified it as the location of the monument in the past). It is part of Glen Canyon National Recreation Area.

RB5

This natural arch is known as one of the world’s largest. American Indian Tribes consider it sacred and is an inspiration to the 85,000 visitors who come to see it every year.

RB7

Access to Rainbow Bridge is through Lake Powell in Arizona. Visitors may hike for several days from the south side of Lake Powell, or by a two-hour boat ride from marinas in Page, Arizona, followed by a mile hike from the embarkation zone. Hubby and I chose to do the boat ride.

RB4

The two-hour boat ride went quickly as we enjoyed gazing at the rock formations we passed by, as well as the boat houses.

Rainbow Bridge did not disappoint. It was a sight to behold. I was awed. I gazed at it amazed, my jaw was on the ground. Nature makes the best art.

RB8

I am happy that many more will be able to come and be equally amazed and inspired by this natural formation because it is being cared for and protected, courtesy of the National Park Service.

Sources:

https://www.nps.gov/rabr/index.htm

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rainbow_Bridge_National_Monument

Photos © Dee Gilbert, unless otherwise noted.

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in National Park Service, Travel, United States and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rainbow Bridge National Monument, San Juan County UT

  1. Pingback: Celebrating the 100th Year of the US National Park Service  | deetravelssite.wordpress.com

  2. lullueblog says:

    What great photos! You’ve definitely sparked my interest in visiting there. Tha ks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

