Free Friday: 5 Free Attractions in Reykjavik 

Iceland is a popular destination nowadays. Hubby and I went there in 2014. That trip remains to be one of my favorites to this day. 


The country is so naturally beautiful that it literally took my breath away. Being an island, Iceland imports necessities, so visiting can be costly. The country is the 4th most expensive in the world, I read somewhere. 


My husband did not spend over our budget when we booked our trip. We grabbed a deal I found on Iceland Air’s website which included airfare, hotel with breakfast, and tours. Then I searched for free things to do in Iceland. Here are 5 among the free attractions to see in Iceland.

1. Perlan is popular for its viewing deck. It offers visitors a 360 degree view of Reykjavik.


2. Hallgrimskirkja is the largest church in Iceland and the sixth tallest. 


3. Solfar or The Sun Voyager is a sculpture of a dream boat, an ode to the sun by Icelandic sculpture Jón Gunnar Árnasson.


4. Floki’s Statue is located at a hill near the sea in Reykjavik. The name Ísland or Iceland is attributed to Viking Floki who settled in the island.


5. Reykjavik City Hall is located by another popular attraction called Tjörnin, a pond. The building has a café and a 3D map of Iceland.


It’s true that Iceland is expensive, but there are free things to do that give a great introduction to the country.

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Europe, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

