Tasty Tuesday: Arancini 

Boungiorno! 

I’m back home from vacation, and I have so much to share about the time I spent in Italy with my hubby. It’s a beautiful country! Today, I’ll start with a classic Italian snack called arancini. Arancini are stuffed rice balls coated with bread crumbs and deep fried.


Hubby and I tried arancini con prosciutto e formaggio (arancini with ham and cheese) and arancini al ragu (with meat and tomato sauce).

Arancini al ragu, €2.50, Ciuri Ciuri, Via Leonina, 18/20, 00184, Roma, Italy

Arancini con prosciutto e formaggio, €2.50

 

They were just the right size for a quick snack, or for our tour guide, lunch. My husband paired his with an Italian beer and he bought me San Pellegrino which I love. I have not had the flavor he got me though, chinotto e mirto (bitter orange and myrtle). Oh, it was bitter!


Budget travelers will love classic Italian snacks because they are reasonably priced and filling. One can enjoy Italy without spending so much on food. At the cafe we bought the arancini, they have combo meals for under €10. 

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Europe, Food, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

