Free Friday: San Simeone Piccolo Church, Venice IT 🇮🇹

It seems like there  is a church in every street corner in Italy. These churches are centuries old. Some are well known, others not so much. We found that there are well known churches with special features one can visit for free, while others charge a minimal fee. San Simeone Piccolo is not well known. We didn’t even know it was church, until my curiosity made me and my husband explore it.


It is one of the last churches built in Venice, completed in 1738. Yes, it’s old, but what else would interest a tourist to check San Simeone out? Those who are interested in architecture would appreciate its Neoclassical architectural style. It caught my eye because the front looks like a Greek temple. 


After googling San Simeone, I found out that the front is modeled from the Pantheon, and the circular church design is inspired by Basilica di San Marco. Its entrance pediment has a marble relief by Venitian sculpture Francesco Penso well known for his reliquary with bas-reliefs of the Crucifixion, Deposition of Christ and the Pietà, for the sacristy in Frari Church, a popular church to visit in Venice.


Inside there are frescoes and paintings of less known Italian artists, I presume.  The paintings show knowledge of depth and use distinct colors showing the influence of high renaissance Italian artists Leonardo da Vinci, Michelangelo, Raphael, and Titian.

There is a cool attraction in the church that we found out about after mass. I had posted about it before. One could explore the crypt of San Simeone for €2. A reasonable price, I think. It’s almost free. 


Sometimes, curiosity does not kill the cat. It leads to cool discoveries. 

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Europe, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Free Friday: San Simeone Piccolo Church, Venice IT 🇮🇹

  1. ralietravels says:

    Very interesting. Since you were on a tour, I am doubly impressed you were able to go off and find this gem.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

