The Road Taken 

WordPress Photo Challenge: The Road Taken

Everyday I pass by this lake. At Winter time, the sight of it depresses me, emphasizing the chill that winter brings.


In Spring, it inspires me as the flora and fauna around it teem with life. It brings joy at how wonderful it is to be alive!


At Summertime, the lake is crowded. People gather to fish, picnic, swim, play, and paddle their boats.


In Fall, the colors around it turn to hues of orange, red, and yellow. It continues to remind me why Fall is my favorite season.


Then one Winter day, I saw a group of kids playing on the frozen lake, and someone said, “This lake provided ice to thousands back in the day!”

I learned that ice was harvested from the lake back in the late 1800’s and early 1900’s and distributed widely by an ice company that employed hundreds, and before that it allowed transport of timber to sawmills.

Ice harvest. Public Domain photo from Wikipedia.


The lake that I pass by everyday, is not just a body of water. There for leisure. It has a story. A part of history. 


Now, when I drive by the lake, it not only brings emotions due to the changing of seasons; it also brings thoughts of people. At one time, the idle lake helped feed thousands. I not only appreciate its beauty, but I also respect its history.

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Photo Challenge, Travel, United States and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Road Taken 

  1. Beautiful pictures. Historical places always give me goosebumps (in a positive way). I somewhere read that those ice companies were quite big at that time, especially because ice was important for food transportation. Thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures of the lake. Have a wonderful weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Isabel Caves says:

    What a beautiful lake…great pics

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Road Taken: New Office | What's (in) the picture?

  4. HesterLeyNel says:

    Stunning pictures. I would love walking along on that road.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

