Airline Rating: TAP Portugal, Long Haul Economy

Overall Rating ⭐️⭐️⭐️.25

It was my first time to fly with TAP Portugal. If my destination is Lisbon, I would fly with TAP again. However, it it were to some other destination, I would look for another airline to fly with. Their planes land about a mile or so from the airport and passengers are shuttled by bus to the building. The ride is at the most 10 minutes.


To get to connecting flights, passengers have to go through immigration and security checks. It was a very stressful experience waiting in a very long line to get through a very slow flow at immigration. Our connecting flight had already boarded when we reached our gate. A 2 1/2 hour stopover is not enough for the whole process. There were people who were in line with my husband and me who had missed their connecting flights. 

Seat Comfort ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

I found the seats aboard TAP Portugal’s A330 comfortable. There was enough space for my legs to stretch. They reclined easily and allowed for a good nap. Usually, I don’t recline my seat, but when the passenger in front of me does, I find it necessary to do so. We were provided with a blanket, pillow, and earphones for the flight.

In-flight Entertainment ⭐️⭐️⭐️/5


The collection of movies, tv shows, and music wasn’t bad. However, on our flight back to the US, the movies streamed one after the other. Passengers couldn’t watch the movie of our choice at the time we wanted. Bummer.

Meals ⭐️⭐️⭐️/5


The food was really nothing that excited. We were served one main meal after take off and a snack before landing. They tasted okay. I had been in flights that served mushy and over cooked meals, so it was a relief to get edible food on board. 


In-flight Service ⭐️⭐️⭐️/5


The service was average. TAP’s personnel were professional and polite. They were efficient. Some airlines offer a little extra something to make flights a pleasant experience like a comfort kit with toothpaste and toothbrush, socks, slippers, eye mask, and lip balm even in economy. TAP Portugal sticks with the minimum. The flight was only 6 hours, so it wasn’t much of a big deal.


All in all, flying with TAP Portugal wasn’t bad. Passengers should ensure there is enough time to get to connecting flights. I would only fly with the airline again if the stopover is at least 3 hours or when my destination is Portugal. Otherwise, I’d fly with other airlines. Preferably one I had flown with before.

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Europe, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

