Tasty Tuesday: Bistecca Fiorentina 

In my excitement to try this dish, I developed selective deafness; you know, like voters who heard the promises of their candidate but really did not get the message, and are now hugely regretting their choice. Sad. 

A local guide in Florence, a true blue Florentine, did say that there is only one way to prepare classic Bistecca Fiorentina: RARE. The about an inch or so meat is seared on both sides and served. THERE IS NO OTHER WAY.

Served at Ristorante Cleto, Rome IT


When the 900 grams meat was placed on our table, it looked so good that I was salivating. But then, I sliced into it, and very bloody juices dribbled on to my plate. That was then that it occurred to me, Ricardo, the local Florentine guide was not kidding. As someone who likes her meat well done, my appetite was gone in 5 seconds. Ricardo wasn’t the only one who said that the steak is served rare. Patricia, the tour manager mentioned it as well. What was I thinking! I appealed to the waiter to please request the chef to cook the meat some more? 


When the meat came back, it looked darker, but was still bloody when I cut into it. I, once again sent it back. Cut into it, and still, a no go. When the waiter put the plate on the table after my third request, he was apologetic, but the chef said no more!

My husband ended up eating 90% of the 900 grams steak while I ate the well cooked edges. It’s definitely a dining faux pas on my part. I will charge it to experience. At least, I won’t wonder what Bistecca Fiorentina is like. Lesson learned: hearing the words isn’t enough, one has to actually listen. 

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Europe, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tasty Tuesday: Bistecca Fiorentina 

  1. ralietravels says:

    Our guide was careful to explain the situation even to the point of suggesting if one did not care for the meat to be rare one should eat something else or prepare for ridicule by the wait-staff; some of the group opted out of the dinner. We loved Florence, but that dinner and attitude was not a hightlight of the tour.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dee Gilbert says:

      Our experience was at a restaurant recommended by our tour manager. I should have ordered pasta. I left the restaurant hungry. 🙁 Went straight to a gelateria to indulge. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

