Snapshots: Congaree National Park, South Carolina 🇺🇸 

A respite from my Italy posts, I’m sharing photos of Congaree National Park.

100 National Park Road Hopkins, SC 29061

Hubby and I are in South Carolina for the weekend. He is running at the Cooper River Bridge 10k Run today (best of luck to him!). Yesterday, we visited Congaree National Park, a designated U.S. National Natural Landmark that “encompasses nearly 27,000 acres, including the largest intact expanse of old growth bottomland hardwood forest remaining in the southeastern United States.” (nps.gov)We did the boardwalk tour to get a glimpse of some cypress trees and wildflowers.It was an enjoyable short visit at the park. I enjoyed the warm weather which I miss so much as winter doesn’t seem to want to leave the north east just yet. We hope to come back to walk the trails to see more of Congaree National Park. 

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in National Park Service, Travel, United States and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snapshots: Congaree National Park, South Carolina 🇺🇸 

  1. ralietravels says:

    It is a park that few people even know about but it has an interesting history and is “different from the other children.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

