Memento Monday: Olalla Gambin Crossbody 

A year ago, I shared about the souvenir that got away. It was a crossbody bag depicting Gustav Klimt’s painting, The Tree of Life. We were at a souvenir shop in Madrid, and I saw this crossbody which captured my attention because the painting on it looked like a Picasso. I wanted it. But then, right beside me was my talking and breathing “conscience” dressed in a shirt and jeans, discouraging me to spend so much on just one item for souvenir. So, with a heavy heart, I walked away. I never did forget that bag. From time to time, I’d think about it, and search for an online store that sells it or similar items. I found out that it is only sold in chosen souvenir shops and chosen museum shops. Very disappointing.Then last month, my work friend, Holly said she was going on a tour of Spain! I took the opportunity to request her to please purchase for me an Olalla Gambin crossbody? I was ecstatic when she said yes!! But, the bag I wanted was no longer available. However, a crossbody with Spanish painter Joaquin Sorolla’s Women Walking at the Beach was.

Olalla Gambin Crossbody, Modelo Ana, Women Walking at the Beach by Joaquin Sorolla, Spanish painter

I told Holly to grab it; to not let it slip through her hands. When she handed the bag to me, I was elated. It’s so pretty, and so well made. When I opened it, there’s a pouch inside! My Olalla Gambin crossbody is perfect. It’s the perfect Madrid souvenir.Finally, I now have in my hands, the souvenir that got away. 

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Europe, Souvenir, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memento Monday: Olalla Gambin Crossbody 

  1. Pingback: Memento Monday: Loqi Shopping Bag featuring Gustav Klimt | deetravelssite.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

