Tasty Tuesday: Unfamiliar Desserts

“May you eat an unfamiliar dessert in a strange land at least once every three years.” Rob Brezsny, American writer 

This quote is from my very new travel journal which I talked about yesterday.It made me think of desserts that I have not tried until I visited the country or state where they are popular. There are three that I tried and enjoyed.

1. Turkish Delight 

Guess where this Delight is from? Yes, as the name suggests, Turkey! The first time I tried it was in 2014. It was given out as treats right before our Turkish Airlines flight landed in Istanbul. Hubby and I had no idea what it was, but we thought, what the heck! This dessert stands by its name. It’s a delight!Eaten in small cubes and dusted with powdered sugar, this delicious Turkish confection is based on gel formed by starch and sugar. It is traditionally flavored with rose water, mastic, bergamot, orange, or lemon. Premium varieties consist of chopped pistachios, hazelnuts, walnuts, or dates. I bought one covered with saffron and another with rose petals. Yum!

2. Skyr

I had my first taste of Skyr after a really serious glacier hike. Those Icelandic tour guides don’t mess around. They make you work, and then feed you! Ha! Ha!Skyr is a low fat dairy product that can be likened to yogurt. The stern Icelandic tour guide emphasized that it is not yogurt. Skyr is skyr. It is said that Vikings brought Skyr to Iceland some 1,100 years ago. It is high in protein, fat free, creamy, and delicious!

3. Kuchen

Kuchen is the German word for cake. No, I did not have kuchen in Germany. That country is on my bucket list. I’ll try kuchen there, too, but this cake I tried, was in South Dakota!It is the official dessert of the Mount Rushmore State. Made with sweet dough and filled with custard, fruit, or nuts, it is a local favorite. 

Here in San Francisco, I haven’t tried anything unfamiliar since my arrival. I dug into the dessert I had when I visited in 2010.Yes, a banana split. From Ghirardelli. I walked miles so I could indulge. It was very satisfying. 😋

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Europe, Food, Travel, United States and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

