Memento Monday: Handwoven Turkish Carpets and Rugs

Carpet rug weaving is a Turkish heritage. I am awed by the skill of these women who produce such beautiful silk carpets and rugs with only their hands.Their work are showcased in an elaborate presentation, snacks included.Made by hand, I understand why the carpets are expensive. I thought I’d go for a small one, thinking it would not cost a lot of money. Wrong! The tighter the silk are woven, the more expensive they are. I liked this one. It turned out to be the most expensive piece presented.The whole collection of carpets and rugs was an eye popper. My eyes were drawn from one beautiful carpet to another.All of them were way over my budget for a souvenir. So I just looked my fill. I have no Turkish carpet or rug for a souvenir, but I do have the memory of having seen so many fine Turkish carpets presented like a runway show. That was good enough.

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Asia, Europe, Photo Challenge, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Memento Monday: Handwoven Turkish Carpets and Rugs

  1. Lovely photos! I enjoyed the account.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Heritage: History | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

