Salisbury Cathedral Tower Staircase, UK

One of the unforgettable experiences I had on my and hubby’s trip to the UK back in 2013 was the Tower Tour at Salisbury Cathedral. The stairs to the tower was one of the narrowest I had climbed.


It was installed in 1939 as part of the effort to preserve the centuries old cathedral for future generations. 


Although narrow, the stairs are safe, enclosed in safety features.


Climbing the narrow and a bit claustrophobic staircase is worth it for the breathtaking view. 


When in Salisbury, United Kingdom, you may want to go up the tower for some history and beautiful scenery.

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
This entry was posted in Europe, Photo Challenge, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Salisbury Cathedral Tower Staircase, UK

  1. Pingback: Narrow (Canal) | What's (in) the picture?

  2. ralietravels says:

    Thanks. You brought back many great memories. We were there long ago but did not climb the tower. I recall the Cathedral as being exceptionally light because most windows did not have stained glass (and the architecture was unusually unified). Is that still true?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Narrow | stenoodie

  4. Sam says:

    Great photos and a story. It looks claustrophobic but the view is worth it.
    I had climbed a brick tower for the view of Warsaw Old Town but I don’t have the towers photo (just the view) so I can’t use it for narrow. 😉 I’ll probably post a photo of a narrow street. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Today I Am Narrow Minded | Lillie-Put

Leave a comment