My 2017 Favorite: Assisi, Italy

Assisi, Province of Perugia, Umbria Region, Italy

Ever since Sister Mary (not her real name) played Brother Sun, Sister Moon, the movie about the life of Saint Francis, in our Christian Living class back when I was in my teens, Saint Francis of Assisi became my favorite Saint. He loved God, life, people, and the earth. He would would have supported every effort to save the earth. He most likely would have found being green easy. Everyday of his life, he strove to show his love for God, his fellowmen, and the environment. This is inspiring to me.

Saint Francis of Assisi in Ecstasy by Caravaggio

I specifically chose our Italy itinerary because of the stop in Assisi. I told myself I can’t go to Italy without visiting the Basilica of my favorite Saint. I am elated that I made the decision, because the medieval town of Assisi is my favorite stop. Located on a hill, the town looks over the surrounding valley. The Basilica stands at the edge of a hill, impressive even from afar.Assisi exudes a small town vibe that is peaceful and spiritual. With a population of a little over 28,000, and having produced 7 Saints, I believe the vibe is real. I remember posting on social media for family and friends that I would love to live there (retirement goals 😊). It was a joy walking along its streets, passing by churches and stores built centuries ago; following ancient steps leading to hotels and residences. Every now and then, we met a Franciscan monk. We smiled and greeted them, “Pace e bene!” Peace and goodwill.

Basilica of Saint Clare

<<
t the end of the road stands the Basilica in honor of Saint Francis of Assisi. His remains are interred there. It was a blessing to have visited and prayed inside. It is a beautiful church with frescoes of Italian artist Pietro Lorenzetti. No photography is allowed inside the Basilica, so I didn't take any. I have to be honest that as I sat and reflected in front of the Basilica's altar, I thought to myself, Saint Francis probably wouldn't be fond of the grandeur of the Basilica dedicated to him. He lived in simplicity. But at the same time, I thought, I appreciate its presence. It contributes in keeping his mission alive, and a visit there revives the spirit.

Friary Courtyard

<

would love to go back to Assisi. Stay there for more than a few hours. Enjoy more time to soak in its small town peaceful and spiritual vibe.May I be blessed to return someday. This I pray.<<
p>

About Dee Gilbert

I am one half of a couple who loves to travel; the half who likes to write and share travel experiences. Reading about travelers' experiences inspire me more to see the world. So, I thought, perhaps in my own little way I could inspire others, too. :)
This entry was posted in Europe, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My 2017 Favorite: Assisi, Italy

  1. ralietravels says:

    I am glad you were able to be there in the winter when it was not packed with tourists and venders. Did you see the Lower Basilica and crypt?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dee Gilbert says:

      I imagine it’s not so peaceful when packed with tourists, but the spiritual feel remains. Yes, I saw the Lower Basilica and crypt. The absence of a huge crowd made praying in both beautiful. 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Easy Being Green: Alternative Fact or Alternative Lie? | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Pingback: Not the 2017 Favourite – Just a Corner of my World (Leftover 1) – What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: WPC: Favorites | Lillie-Put

Leave a comment